Huka Falls

The Huka Falls, just five minutes drive  north of Taupo, is the most visited natural tourist attraction in New Zealand.

It’s mesmerising to watch the waters of the Waikato River, usually about 1oo metres wide, being compressed into a 20 metre wide gorge and fall over a 20 metre drop.

Within a short distance of the surging foam (the word “huka” is Maori for foam) the waters level off and become calm once more.

There is a viewing platform beside the road. Travel a little further and head down towards the large, free car park and you can walk across a bridge to get up close and personal with the waterfall.

8 thoughts on “Huka Falls

  1. Ana says:

    It just goes to show that you can learn something every day. For all the times I’ve been to Huka Falls I never knew it meant foam!

  2. I discovered that today, too! It’s rather beautiful, isn’t it!

  3. Anarty says:

    Lovely photos I particularly like the top one!

  4. KylaB says:

    Looks amazing. I love being by water.

  5. click here says:

    I have learn some excellent stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how a lot effort you put to make the sort of great informative web site.

Leave a comment