Whangarei Quayside Town Basin

Our International Fellowship of Flying Rotarians tour bus dropped us off by the marina in Whangarei to pick up a cafe lunch.

The cute shop fronts were reminiscent of the shopping areas at Brisbane's South Bank.

The cute shop fronts were reminiscent of the shopping areas at Brisbane’s South Bank.

It was the perfect opportunity to boost the struggling Northland economy – new Aussie style hats for Iggy and me and stunning new swimming togs for me. It was a good thing I didn’t have my glasses on when I checked the price label, as they were not the bargain that my blurred vision would have had me believe. But wow – the first pair of togs off the rack and a flattering fit. Worth ignoring the price tag on these.

I loved the clothes hooks in the swimwear shop changing rooms. The doors of the changing rooms were painted like the old-fashioned bathhouses they used to have at the British seaside. Stunning!

I loved the clothes hooks in the swimwear shop changing rooms. The doors of the changing rooms were painted like the old-fashioned bathhouses they used to have at the English seaside. Stunning!

I am suffering from abstainers' remorse over failing to buy one some of this Brian Gartside pottery, on sale at the art shop at the Quayside.

I am suffering from abstainers’ remorse over failing to buy  some of this Brian Gartside pottery, on sale at the art shop at the Quayside. I love the rich colour combinations.

This contemporary pot would have looked terrific on my sideboard, too.

This contemporary pot would have made a statement on my sideboard, too.

The entrance to our home is not big enough for this magnificent chair made from centuries old swamp kauri.

The entrance to our home is not big enough for this magnificent chair made from centuries old swamp kauri.

Apparently, yachts come down from the islands to shelter at Quayside during the cyclone season. The covered walkway, fishing boats and yachts contributed to the peaceful environment.

walkway

fishing boats

We ran out of time to look through Claphams Clock Museum...

We ran out of time to look through Claphams Clock Museum…

...but enjoyed the ubiquitous seagull...

…but enjoyed the ubiquitous seagull…

... and the international combination of imported sparrows playing in a native nikau tree.

… and the international combination of imported sparrows playing in a native nikau tree.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Whangarei Quayside Town Basin

  1. VJ says:

    Haha – I’m going to have to steal the phrase abstainer’s remorse.

  2. Yes – we don’t want to see too much of that going on, do we!

  3. KOA says:

    The clothes hooks and bowls look so pretty. Great photos.

    • Thank you! I left my credit card back at the hotel and had to borrow Iggy’s every time I fell in love with something – like those clothes hooks which were for sale and reasonably priced. Having just received my Visa statement, I guess I should be thanking my lucky stars that my spending habit was curbed a little while at the Whangarei Quayside.

  4. I love those swim hooks. I quite fancy the idea of having a “cloak room” off a back door entrance where we can all come in, take of dirty shoes, hang up coats and beanies and bags before getting any further into the house. Those hooks would be perfect. Now all I need is the cloak room.

  5. The clothes hooks were especially cool in that you had to go through a bathing house style door to get into the changing room. Now how would that look on your dream cloak room?

  6. Iggy says:

    I think I left my old hat at the icecream bar. Good icecream!

    • Maybe that’s where it needs to be, sitting on a table watching the yachts come in and out of the marina – a hat’s equivalent of being put out to grass. Your new hat looks smashing.

Leave a Reply

