Waikato drought

Our memories of the New Zealand summer are of day after day of baking  in the glorious sun. After such a non-event summer last year, our spirits were uplifted when there were forecasts of a real Kiwi summer this year – and it is joyful to wake to blue skies on a warm morning. However, the effects of the long dry are now affecting every one of us – hand-held hoses only for watering the garden and the threat of expensive produce in the year ahead as production costs soar with the extreme summer temperatures. It is years since we have seen such sun-bleached landscape, with plants going to seed and turning brown ahead of autumn. Yesterday there was 1mm of drizzle – the first “rain” in many weeks. Farmers report that they need 150 times this much rain over a seven day period to regenerate their pastures.

drought 1

seed head 1

seed head 2

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “Waikato drought

  1. runningmelon says:

    Wow! I’ve never seen the Waikato look that brown!

  2. Iggy says:

    When I go glider flying, we can see the “dust devils” starting off in the dry fields. The dust devil might last for up to 10 minutes before it breaks free from the surface. As a tow-pilot I take the gliders to dusty column of air. Often they will report a climb of more than 2000 feet before I land about 4 minutes later. One pilot said the onion harvest is underway as he had the onions skins up at 3000 feet flying with him. That’s sure dry alright!

  3. Another completely different perspective on our super-dry land. I notice in this morning’s paper that an official declaration of drought could come today.

  4. Shop Pin says:

    Hmm it seems like your blog ate my initially comment (it was super lengthy) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m nonetheless new to the whole thing. Do you’ve any recommendations for novice blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

