Christmas cards

Keeping in touch with friends around the globe is one of the delights of Christmas. The email pings up with a newsletters full of family developments and achievements, these days chock full of grandchildren photos (I plead guilty, myself, on this one). We know that the stories are abbreviated (best to fit on a single page) and sanitised (the dirty washing can wait). It is the contact that counts.

Best of all is the pile of cards in the letterbox. We look at the stamp, examine the handwriting as a clue to the sender’s identity, and devour the year’s news over a cup of coffee. Some years I find beautiful and original cards that I am proud to send to my friends around New Zealand and the rest of the world. This year, the selection did not excite me. On the other hand, we have enjoyed the interesting selection of cards that have been sent to us.

This print of a watercolour is of the home and estate owned by the sender. We look forward to spending a couple of nights there next year - a contrast to our humble suburban home.

This print of a watercolour is of the home and estate owned by the card’s sender. We look forward to spending a couple of nights there next year – a contrast to our humble suburban home.

Sent to us by a friend who is currently involved in a difficult legal situation, this cynical card had us laughing. Okay, it's not in the Christmas spirit, but we loved the expression on the girl's face.

Sent to us by a friend who is currently involved in a difficult legal situation, this cynical card had us laughing. Okay, it’s not in the Christmas spirit, but we loved the expression on the girl’s face.

Dunedin artist Di Wales painted her fellow choir members - singers in the City Choir Dunedin - and had cards printed as part of a fundraising campaign. I recognised the sender of the card instantly.

Dunedin artist Di Wales painted her fellow choir members – singers in the City Choir Dunedin – and had cards printed as part of a fundraising campaign. I recognised the sender of the card instantly – front row, second from the left. Such a happy, colourful card – you can almost hear the carols!

This card represents the reason for the season - a commercial card. I like the triptych format and the gentle water colour style.

This card represents the reason for the season – a commercial card. I like the triptych format and the gentle water colour style.

Another fundraiser - a great idea to combine sending a card and charitable giving - this high quality card with its delightful Tristan Tan illustration is a fundraiser for Severn Hospice.

Another fundraiser – a great idea to combine sending a card and charitable giving – this high quality card with its delightful Tristan Tan illustration is a fundraiser for Severn Hospice.

Friends who are Greenies now living in Sydney hand made this card, using a wonderfully Australian recycled image. I have a pile of collected images for card making in a box. Next year's Christmas Card blog should feature my most creative efforts. I love the image and the respect the card shows for the environment.

Friends who are Greenies now living in Sydney hand made this card, using a wonderfully Australian recycled image. I love their choice of image, the time and care that has gone into crafting a card so beautifully for me, and the respect for the environment.  I have a pile of collected images for card making in a box, and my friends’ example has spurred me on to consider making my own cards next Christmas

 

To all my faithful blog followers and visitors – it continues to give me a thrill that you drop in to share the pleasures and the treasures of the Waikato and beyond. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas. Just before you sign off this page though – how about you tell us which is your favourite card and why.

Tagged

One thought on “Christmas cards

  1. Thank you to Jill who sent the following message by email: I loved the range of cards on your blog. Because I am a bit cynical this year I’m in favour of the little girl’s sentiments but I must admit I do like to support the Save the Children Fund with their cards.

Leave a Reply

