The French Tart

The courtyard out the back of the French Tart is light and airy and was surprisingly warm on a late winter’s day.

My business colleague chose the fish pie and said it was delicious. Love the fish-shaped pastry garnish.

I find it hard to go past my regular favourite, the lamb shank pie. It’s such a Kiwi dish for a French restaurant, luscious lamb smothered with a pumpkin topping. Yes – I know the rest of the world feeds pumpkin to the cattle (or makes Thanksgiving pumpkin pie). As a Kiwi, I enjoy pumpkin regularly as a vegetable.

Right by the Fairfield Bridge in Hamilton, and almost a neighbour of VaVaVoom boutique, The French Tart is in a handy central location. If you can’t park right outside or straight across the road, just drive round to the back. Being easy to access is certainly a great start in a cafe.

Through changes of owners, the menu and excellent coffee have remained consistent – and very good! An added bonus is, if you get there early enough, you can pick up your loaf of  locally made Volare bread – without question, the best bread I have eaten anywhere in the world.

Those with a sweet tooth are well catered for. A limitation, however – there is not much on the menu for vegetarians, those seeking low fat alternatives, and those wanting gluten free options. While I am sure the kitchen would whip a salad similar to that shown as the very generous, fresh and crunchy garnish to our scrummy pies, I would visit more often if there was a better selection for my friends on special diets.

Where do you go in Hamilton for a good range of healthy options?

Tagged ,

8 thoughts on “The French Tart

  1. VJ says:

    Love the light in the chair photo

  2. Thank you! A serendipitous moment.

  3. Ana says:

    It’s a great name for a French cafe!! For me, if the long black is good, I’m there!

  4. The long black is among the best in town. Sometimes cafe coffees taste a bit burnt to me, but not at The French Tart.

  5. beton says:

    Generally I don’t read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do so! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, very great post.

  6. This looks just delightful, and how could it not be with a name like The French Tart!

    • Yes – you have to smile when you say a name like that! When the cafe first opened there was writing on the walls about various French Tarts and how they liked to spend their time. None of it was X-rated. It was all very clever and good for a laugh.

Leave a Reply

