Frost

Lettuce.

Chard.

Nandina.

On the completely bare fig tree, there is a wee glimmer of new growth, reminding us that spring will come.

 

Only yesterday I said “It does not get more wintry than this.” Well, it does. Minus 3.8 degrees when we woke up this morning – and that was after, shall we say, some hibernation. When I ducked outside, what a wonderland.

I don’t rush out and cover up frost-tender plants (goodbye pink vireya, goodbye Poor Knights Lily that apparently flowers only once in seven years). There are so many plants that are happy in this climate, that only the survivors get to stay.

16 thoughts on “Frost

  1. starkwe says:

    So beautiful! I need a little frost around here right now.

    • Thank you for your comment, starkwe. For my blog followers who love photography, do drop by starkwe’s site – floridabehindthescenes.wordpress.com. Glorious colour, close ups you want to touch. As for wanting a bit of frost, starkwe – well, the frost is really pretty, but it wouldn’t take much for me to vote in favour of sunshine and warmth!

  2. Iggy says:

    I think that I am frost tender – I like to stay inside where it is warm!

  3. VJ says:

    What stunning photos – love the one of the lettuce! Know anyone making gardening calendars?

    • Thank you. It intrigues me that a lettuce that gets frozen in the fridge turns to a gooey mess and the lettuce that is frozen with frost bounces back by midday as if it has never had ice all over it.

  4. Ana says:

    At least the fig tree is a survivor. Figs are nicer than chard anyway!

    • Ana, I would have to agree that home-grown tree-ripened figs are wonderful. When you visit me in New Zealand I will serve up some of my homegrown chard. I have chosen the rainbow variety and, as well as blanching the leaves, I steam the stalks and serve with a drizzle of butter, seasoned with lemon pepper. They are a beautiful blend of crimson, yellow, greeny-white and orange and because they look delectable they don’t taste too bad, either.

Leave a Reply

